How install new smart thermostat


  #1  
Old 11-28-19, 09:31 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How install new smart thermostat

I am trying to replace a older programmable Honeywell thermostat with a EcoBee smart thermostat but am unsure of the wiring. The Honeywell has only the Red, White, Yellow & Green wires connected...there is also a Blue wire coming out of the wall that had electrical tape on it & not used. Is that Blue wire possibly the Common wire need for the new thermostat as C?
 
  #2  
Old 11-28-19, 09:37 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 15,031
Received 629 Likes on 538 Posts
It is possible that it is a common wire but you will need to check at the furnace. It is also likely that it is not connected, which is fine as you can then connect it to the common terminal.
 
  #3  
Old 11-28-19, 09:44 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,345
Received 464 Likes on 384 Posts
The ecobee does come with an adapter to install at the furnace if you have no common wire.
 
  #4  
Old 11-28-19, 10:07 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,076
Received 3,194 Likes on 2,869 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Remove the blower door to locate the control board.
There should be a terminal strip with a C terminal.

If not....post a picture of the board or the part number on it......How-to-insert-pictures.
 
  #5  
Old 11-28-19, 12:35 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ok I will have to get some help with locating furnace/AC blower door. Not sure on what that looks like.
What would happen if I just hook up the Blue wire as the Common? Would the thermostat work? Or should I just call for help with blower door in attic?
 
  #6  
Old 11-28-19, 12:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,076
Received 3,194 Likes on 2,869 Posts
Do you know what your system is ?
Your thermostat needs to be programmed.

Your wiring would suggest a gas furnace with a split A/C system.
What wire colors are on what terminals ?
If it's a furnace..... the door is easily removable.

You could try to connect the blue to C and see if it works.
I would doubt it.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: