Trouble with finding smart thermostat compatibility


  #1  
Old 12-02-19, 06:42 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Trouble with finding smart thermostat compatibility

Hi, I am trying to upgrade our current thermostat to one of the smart thermostat options that the market offers. I have tried going through the Google Nest compatibility checker and the online chat agent tells me that my wires appear to be compatible but my furnace is incompatible.

I have a Trane XV80 central furnace and a Trane XB13 central AC unit. Here is a picture of my current thermostat setup.



I've got several questions. First, what does the W/E connection refer to? I know what W and E refer to individually but when actually hooking a smart thermostat, I'm not sure which connection to put the white W/E wire into.

Second, does anyone know why my furnace is incompatible and if there is a smart thermostat option that would work for me?
 
  #2  
Old 12-02-19, 07:07 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 15,993
Received 85 Upvotes on 77 Posts
you do not have the c wire. You would need to install a power extender kit.

My advice would be get an ecobee if you really want a smart t stat. To me they are just a gimmick..

The t stat needs 24 volts and as said you have no C wire that provides this voltage

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xJAxnd1x-lE
 
  #3  
Old 12-02-19, 07:09 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 15,993
Received 85 Upvotes on 77 Posts
  #4  
Old 12-02-19, 07:37 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 15,993
Received 85 Upvotes on 77 Posts
But because of that power robbing feature of the power extender kit it takes power from your control board. Robbing it. Boards may tend to fail more often then not. Its my advice to have new t stat wires run and add a separate transformer to power the said smart t stat.

https://homeguidereport.com/how-ecob...strated-guide/
 
  #5  
Old 12-02-19, 07:40 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 15,993
Received 85 Upvotes on 77 Posts
Last you can get something like this if you do not mind a wire running up the wall to your t stat.

https://www.amazon.com/Adapter-Trans.../dp/B075PN6NCV
 
  #6  
Old 12-02-19, 09:00 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,086
Received 161 Upvotes on 147 Posts
Hi, any spare conductors in that cable behind the Tstat, hard to tell from the pics, try and pull the cable out of the wall , also check the other end at the furnace, post some pics of the control board at the furnace.
Geo
 
  #7  
Old 12-02-19, 10:11 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 15,993
Received 85 Upvotes on 77 Posts
Hi, any spare conductors in that cable behind the Tstat, hard to tell from the pics, try and pull the cable out of the wall , also check the other end at the furnace, post some pics of the control board at the furnace.
Geo
Yes I see an orange black and blue wire in there. He can get a C wire. Need a pic of the board at the furnace.

I think this is the XV80 board from trane

 
  #8  
Old 12-02-19, 06:41 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Here is a picture of the connections at my Trane XV80 furnace. If I were to purchase something like the Ecobee and install the power extension kit which would help me get a C connection, would that work?

 
  #9  
Old 12-02-19, 06:59 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 15,993
Received 85 Upvotes on 77 Posts
There are extra wires in the wall behind t stat. Pick one and strip it so you have 5 wires.

Then at the furnace board find that extra wire in the t stat wires up there.

Connect that wire to C at the furnace board. When you hook up the t stat hook that wire to C. That should power the t stat and no power extender needed..

Kill power to furnace when working on that board.

https://www.ecobee.com/compatibility/thermostat/
 
  #10  
Old 12-02-19, 07:01 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 15,993
Received 85 Upvotes on 77 Posts
There is a blue black and orange wire in that bundle. Pick one and use it as the c wire.

 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: