Burnham ES2 2-zone heating adding C wire

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-14-19, 04:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Burnham ES2 2-zone heating adding C wire

I am very new to electrical work so hope some one can help
I am trying to replace my old thermostats with Nest but it does not work properly so I need to add a c wire. I have 2 zone thus 2 thermostats. Pictures of the ES2 wiring is attached.
I read several earlier posts and it seems if there is only one zone(Thermostat 1) you can just add the common wire to terminal 3 next to the two T terminals. But where should I add c wire for the 2nd thermostat?

Name:  b1.jpg
Views: 18
Size:  80.1 KB

Name:  b2.jpg
Views: 19
Size:  103.7 KB

Name:  捕获.jpg
Views: 21
Size:  12.7 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-14-19 at 04:31 PM. Reason: resized pictures
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-14-19, 04:27 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,219
Received 477 Votes on 447 Posts
That is not a multi thermostat controller. You must have zone valves or something similar that controls the boiler. I need to know what you have.

What you are calling second zone is the DHW control loop.
 
  #3  
Old 12-14-19, 05:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
sorry I am not sure but that is how it works in my house right now. I have two air handlers connected to the boiler, and two t-stats controls upstairs and downstairs separately. I am attaching a chart I saw on the manual. Can that be my setup? and I am also attaching another diagram--the original is too small.
 
Attached Images  
Attached Images
File Type: pdf
Wiring.pdf (411.5 KB, 5 views)

Last edited by AprilBlue; 12-14-19 at 05:18 PM.
  #4  
Old 12-15-19, 01:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,219
Received 477 Votes on 447 Posts
You still need some type of device to control the hot water flow. Those are usually zone valves.
Each thermostat may go to an air handler and zone valve.
Without knowing what you have there..... I cannot help you.

Remembering a similar thread to this one...... that boiler controller doesn't run or put out 24v on the thermostat line. I believe you will need a relay to control the boiler control. I'm looking for further info.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: