Looking for replacement options for carrier thermostat


  #1  
Old 01-02-20, 05:59 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: US
Posts: 48
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Looking for replacement options for carrier thermostat

We have two carrier thermostats in our home that are about 15 years old and original to the house. In Ohio, we qualify for a $75 rebate to replace them. I want to get something thatís compatible with Amazon Alexa that also works with some an app. Thereís plenty of fancy new thermostats for sale, but some require batteries whereas mine does not. Iíd like one where I can just hook in the two wires currently connected to my current carrier thermostats and be good to go. Recommendations? Links are to picks of the current unit.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/l8ijix3pyi...20.39.jpg?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/qz2v5m89ev...21.57.jpg?dl=0
 
  #2  
Old 01-02-20, 07:15 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,416
Received 178 Likes on 164 Posts
What’s the other end of the wire look like?
That’s either a communicating thermostat or it has a module at the equipment end.
What type of equipment do you have?
 
  #3  
Old 01-02-20, 08:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,630
Received 3,323 Likes on 2,984 Posts
That's a Carrier communicating thermostat. (cftchccpuisa2-gen) Early edition I believe.

Check out this thread. It will give you an idea what the control looks like if it has one.
replacing-carrier-thermostat-with-nest.
 
  #4  
Old 01-02-20, 09:57 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: US
Posts: 48
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks guys for pointing me out in the right direction. There must be something wireless going on. There are only two wires to control heat, A/C, fan, as well as signal when the filter needs replacement. And those two wires only seem to provide power to the thermostat.
 
  #5  
Old 01-02-20, 10:00 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,416
Received 178 Likes on 164 Posts
No, nothing wireless. Just a communicating thermostat or 2 wire control with a module at the unit.
What type of system do you have?
 
  #6  
Old 01-03-20, 10:27 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,630
Received 3,323 Likes on 2,984 Posts
Those two wires carry power to the thermostat and allow control signals to pass back thru them to either an EIM or directly into the Carrier control board.
 
  #7  
Old 01-07-21, 02:17 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
BlackOnBlack - did you every find a smart thermostat that would be compatible with your older thermostats? I have the same set up, and I would like to upgrade to a smart thermostat as well. Thanks!
 
  #8  
Old 01-07-21, 04:51 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: US
Posts: 48
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I never did. I was hoping to find something that would have an app as well as work with my Alexa devices but have yet to find something. Let me know if you do.
 
  #9  
Old 01-07-21, 05:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,630
Received 3,323 Likes on 2,984 Posts
There is nothing that will directly replace that thermostat. It is a digitally communicating thermostat.

As previously asked...... what is at the other end of the wire. In other words.... what is at the air handler/furnace end. You will either have a dedicated communicating system that aftermarket will never work with or you will have an EIM (electronic interface module) that could be bypassed.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: