Looking for replacement options for carrier thermostat

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-02-20, 04:59 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: US
Posts: 45
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Looking for replacement options for carrier thermostat

We have two carrier thermostats in our home that are about 15 years old and original to the house. In Ohio, we qualify for a $75 rebate to replace them. I want to get something thatís compatible with Amazon Alexa that also works with some an app. Thereís plenty of fancy new thermostats for sale, but some require batteries whereas mine does not. Iíd like one where I can just hook in the two wires currently connected to my current carrier thermostats and be good to go. Recommendations? Links are to picks of the current unit.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/l8ijix3pyi...20.39.jpg?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/qz2v5m89ev...21.57.jpg?dl=0
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-02-20, 06:15 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,861
Received 103 Votes on 97 Posts
What’s the other end of the wire look like?
That’s either a communicating thermostat or it has a module at the equipment end.
What type of equipment do you have?
 
  #3  
Old 01-02-20, 07:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,046
Received 1,105 Votes on 1,025 Posts
That's a Carrier communicating thermostat. (cftchccpuisa2-gen) Early edition I believe.

Check out this thread. It will give you an idea what the control looks like if it has one.
replacing-carrier-thermostat-with-nest.
 
  #4  
Old 01-02-20, 08:57 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: US
Posts: 45
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks guys for pointing me out in the right direction. There must be something wireless going on. There are only two wires to control heat, A/C, fan, as well as signal when the filter needs replacement. And those two wires only seem to provide power to the thermostat.
 
  #5  
Old 01-02-20, 09:00 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,861
Received 103 Votes on 97 Posts
No, nothing wireless. Just a communicating thermostat or 2 wire control with a module at the unit.
What type of system do you have?
 
  #6  
Old 01-03-20, 09:27 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,046
Received 1,105 Votes on 1,025 Posts
Those two wires carry power to the thermostat and allow control signals to pass back thru them to either an EIM or directly into the Carrier control board.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: