New RTH6360 not heating

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-26-20, 12:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New RTH6360 not heating

I picked up the above mentioned thermostat when I saw a deal on it, because I've really wanted a programmable thermostat, but it appears I mixed something up somewhere.
The pictures below are of the old and new wiring. The color coding might be off a bit, the wiring from an old unit was reused, I believe.
Attachment 112720
In the old picture, it's hard to tell, but R and Rc are jumped using what looks like a staple.
Attachment 112721
The heating unit is a Rheem model RQNJ-A036JK.
I tried most of the option combinations, but the last one was:
Heating system type: 2 Heat pump
Heating equipment type: 7 Air to air heat pump
Reversing valve O/B: 0 O/B in cool
Cooling stages: 1
Heating stages: 1

Any help you can provide would be tremendosly appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-26-20, 05:38 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,173
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
Hi, what is the furnace not doing? What model is the new Stat.
Geo
 
  #3  
Old 01-26-20, 07:40 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Nothing happens. At all.
The thermostat is a Honeywell RTH6379D.
 
  #4  
Old 01-26-20, 08:47 AM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,092
Received 16 Votes on 14 Posts
Rheem, unlike most other manufacturers, powers the reversing valve to heat. The O/B should be set to "B" (energize to heat). It also appears that you have 2 stages of heat & one of cool.
Use a volt meter set for AC volts to check for 24-28 volts between the red & black wires.
 
  #5  
Old 01-26-20, 08:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
28 volts
The pictures seem to have been removed. Adding back. Name:  20200126_005623.jpg
Views: 26
Size:  3.06 MB
Name:  20200125_195801.jpg
Views: 24
Size:  2.73 MB
 

Last edited by Cam Eron; 01-26-20 at 08:56 AM. Reason: Adding info
  #6  
Old 01-26-20, 09:39 AM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,092
Received 16 Votes on 14 Posts
Your wiring looks OK. Try configuring the stat as I suggest in the previous post. I think you can install batteries & configure the stat before mounting it to the base.
 
  #7  
Old 01-26-20, 10:33 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It would only let me choose 1 stage, but it seems to be heating. Would that prevent it from turning on em heat? I jacked up the temperature and couldn't get it to cut em heat on.
 
  #8  
Old 01-26-20, 10:57 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,635
Received 515 Votes on 485 Posts
These should be your settings. The thermostat will eventually bring on the AUX heat but it may not be as soon as you increase the thermostat. Have not found a RTH6379D in the list.

200 = 2 (heat pump)
205 = 7 (air to air heat pump)
218 = 1 (O/B in heat mode) This is the correct setting for Rheem/Ruud systems
220 = 1 (cool stage)
221 = 1 (heat stage) 1 (backup heat stage)
 
JOB voted this post useful.
  #9  
Old 01-26-20, 12:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Awesome. Thank you all so much for your help.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: