Mark V to HZ311 Wiring Questions


  #1  
Old 02-06-20, 04:04 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Mark V to HZ311 Wiring Questions

First post here, but the forum looks like a great, very helpful community. happy for the opportunity to ask some questions.

Just bought a home:
Propane heat, 2 zones (2 honeywell ZD damper units), no heat pump
1 AC unit

The old thermostats are 2 ancient Honeywell Chonotherms.

The zone control panel is an old Mastertrol Mark V Name:  Mark V.jpg
Views: 805
Size:  297.8 KB
I tried installing a Nest and an Ecobee (i have one of each, it's never been a problem in the past, but i'd happily align them if it would help things run smoother). The ecobee made the system turn on, but not off. and the Nest made it short cycle.

So i understand the Mastertrol is incompatible with the new smart thermostats. So i bought a HZ311 TrueZONE.

I've attached spreadsheets of the current wiring and one weird splice i'm trying to understand.

Name:  Furnace Config 1.JPG
Views: 391
Size:  106.7 KBName:  Furnace Config 2.JPG
Views: 354
Size:  93.3 KBName:  Furnace Config 3.JPG
Views: 388
Size:  33.1 KB

If anyone can help me map out the new wiring configuration on the HZ311, that'd be awesome. Hopefully the smart thermostats to the HZ311 is more straightforward. Grateful for any advice!
 
  #2  
Old 02-09-20, 02:48 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
sunday bump!
sunday bump!
sunday bump!
sunday bump!
sunday bump!
 
  #3  
Old 02-09-20, 02:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,497
Received 4,056 Upvotes on 3,639 Posts
It is not easy to wire unless you know what each cable is for.

Have you identified your two thermostat cables ?
Have you identified your two damper cables ?
There should be one cable to the furnace.

What's the question about the splice...... why is the generator tied in ?
The generator is tied in as load shedding for your generator. When your generator is running.... the outside condenser is not.
 
  #4  
Old 02-10-20, 05:31 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes! Thank you. And thank you for explaining the load shedding!

I have identified all wires.

The stats are on the T Terminals in both zone 1 and 2. But oddly (at least to me), the green and blue from both stats are going to the 24V transformer terminals.
The dampers are on the M terminals in both zone 1 and 2. But oddly (at least to me) they are going to M2 and M4. M1 and M5 are jumped, and every installation guide i've seen for Honeywell ZD damper motors says they should be wired to M1 and M6. (also, as far as i can tell it doesn't matter which wire from the damper goes to which terminal M1 or M6).

As far as equipment:
Terminal Current Configuration
Y = Yellow from Furnace and Red from AC / Generator splice
G = Green from Furnace
Rc = Jumps to Rh
Rh = Jumps to Rc and Red from Furnace
W = W From Furnace
CAPPED Blue from Furnace and White from AC

thank you thank you thank you
 
  #5  
Old 02-10-20, 04:17 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,497
Received 4,056 Upvotes on 3,639 Posts
M1 is C
M2 is 24v = blue
M4 is open = yellow
M5 is common and connected to C
M6 is close

This wiring tells me that your dampers open with 24vAC on yellow and blue and they close with no power. That would mean a spring powered close.
Can you confirm that or let me know what damper model is used.
 
  #6  
Old 02-11-20, 05:36 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Can confirm dampers are Honeywell M847D1012 and M847D10004 which are "spring return."

where in NNJ are you? i grew up in sussex county, spent the last 10 in morris, and just moved to Hunterdon.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: