Nest E Thermostat Installation


  #1  
Old 06-01-22, 06:45 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Nest E Thermostat Installation

I need help replacing a Comfortnet Control System model CTK04AE thermostat with a Nest E Thermostat. The Comfortnet thermostat has four wires attached. Black wire to Data 1. White wire to Data 2. Red wire to Power (24 VAC). Blue wire to Common. Nest customer service doesn’t know what to do and merely says the Nest is incompatible. Does anyone have any suggestions?
 
  #2  
Old 06-02-22, 01:41 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,166
Received 2,974 Votes on 2,683 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Nest tech service is correct.
The CTK04AE is a Goodman/Amana communicating thermostat that controls all system functions digitally over four wires. A nest is an analog thermostat. The CTK04 thermostat controls more functions then the nest provides so you would be losing some system efficiency in loss of automatic controls.

In order to consider conversion... I'd need....
The model number off the air handler and the outside condenser.
Is this a heat pump system ? Backup electric heat ?
Furnace with split A/C ?
How many wires total are there in the thermostat cable ?
 
nevetsecallaw voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 06-02-22, 05:45 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for the quick and detailed response. This unit is located at my daughter’s home in Florida, so I’ll have my son-in-law obtain the information so that either he or I can post the response.
 
  #4  
Old 06-02-22, 04:22 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Info Requested




 
  #5  
Old 06-02-22, 05:16 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Info Requested

Is this a heat pump system ? Backup electric heat ?
Furnace with split A/C ?
How many wires total are there in the thermostat cable ?

No heat pump. Just a typical all electric Florida home with central air and heat. Four wire system. Data 1 has a black wire, Data 2 has a white wire. Power has a red wire. Common is a blue wire.
 
  #6  
Old 06-05-22, 05:47 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I’ve done some additional research. It looks like the only opportunity to utilize the Nest in place of the Comfortnet thermostat would be to install a mechanical relay board along with some relays. I also researched the ability to put the Comfortnet on the Internet, it looks like that improvement is marginal in that those sharing their use were met with intermittent connections and limited scheduling capability. Am I wrong on both these items.
 
  #7  
Old 06-07-22, 07:44 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No ideas from anyone?
 
  #8  
Old 06-07-22, 11:11 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,166
Received 2,974 Votes on 2,683 Posts
Goodman 4 Ton 16 SEER GSZC160481 Central Air Conditioner Heat Pump
That condenser model is listed as a two stage heat pump with scroll compressor.

This would be an install that I'd attempt as I'm familiar with these systems.
There are many hurdles that need to be overcome. Not a DIY conversion.
The nest E will only support single stage operation of the system.
There are wiring changes needed at the air handler and the condenser.
There are DIP switches needing to be set based on CFM of airflow.
You'd need to get two Legacy connectors. They plug into the control boards for wiring connections.

Air handler manual
Down loadable Comfort Net condenser manual

I can list the wiring connections but can't be of much help during the installation.
I don't see this as a positive move just to get internet access.
The loss of dual stage operation will increase operating costs.

I'm trying to find out if your thermostat is wifi capable using a link. It may be.
Good review and system information......Comfort net CTK04
 
nevetsecallaw voted this post useful.
  #9  
Old 06-07-22, 02:14 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you. I’ll check out the link you provided as I want to learn more about HVAC dual stage operating units.

I’ve researched what it would take to put the controller on the Internet (HoneywellRedlinkCompatible). Users have said the connections are intermittent and there is no ability to schedule operations.

My son-in-law and I are very capable electronically and therefore should be able to implement the steps you recommend.
 
  #10  
Old 06-13-22, 06:36 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Would replacing the existing thermostat (Comfortnet Control System model CTK04AE) with this model be a better replacement unit?

Honeywell TH9320WF5003 Wi-Fi 9000 Color Touch Screen Programmable Thermostat, 3.5 x 4.5 Inch, White, 'Requires C Wire"

 
  #11  
Old 06-13-22, 08:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,166
Received 2,974 Votes on 2,683 Posts
That would be a better match for the system. It requires 7 wires and that's what you have.
You have a 3H/2C heat pump system.

Residio WiFi 9000 install - pdf
 
  #12  
Old 06-14-22, 08:58 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks.
 
  #13  
Old 06-16-22, 08:25 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If I go this new route and I only have four wires currently connected. How would I connect them to this new thermostat?

Previously shared.. The Comfortnet thermostat has four wires attached. Black wire to Data 1. White wire to Data 2. Red wire to Power (24 VAC). Blue wire to Common.
 
  #14  
Old 06-17-22, 09:59 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,166
Received 2,974 Votes on 2,683 Posts
Wiring connections to 9000 series stat....


 
nevetsecallaw voted this post useful.
  #15  
Old 06-18-22, 05:16 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you. I’ll come back for more support if needed. I’ll also provide an update to this dilemma once the replacement has been completed.
 
  #16  
Old 06-18-22, 10:54 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,166
Received 2,974 Votes on 2,683 Posts
Be sure everything is powered down before changing the wiring.
Don't forget you need to get the phoenix connectors. The one needed is not on your furnace.
Not sure about the condenser end.


Goodman/Amana service bulletin - phoenix - pdf
 
  #17  
Old 06-19-22, 07:39 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you agin for the information.

I just came across the Honeywell T6 Wi-fi Programmable Smart Thermostat. Is this a suitable replacement?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: