Thermostat Wiring Compatibility


  #1  
Old 06-11-22, 11:19 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thermostat Wiring Compatibility - Help Please!!

Hello,

Looking for some help with my current wiring and if it is feasible for me to upgrade my thermostat to a smart thermostat.

Current Thermostat - White Rodgers 1F83-0431
Desired Thermostat - Sensi Smart Touch Thermostat

I live in a building that is geothermal and I have a heat pump - if there is more clarity needed around this, I will try to get that info!


My current wiring is attached with this post, am curious to see if I can DIY my thermostat to the new one.

Thank you for taking the time to view and help!
 
  #2  
Old 06-11-22, 03:46 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,130
Received 2,965 Votes on 2,675 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Not sure why that jumper is there from W2 to W/E but it does absolutely nothing without a wire connected to it or back up electric heat.
You have a geothermal heat pump. It's not two things.
Instead of air to air.... your heat pump uses ground sourced water.

You do not have back up heat so you must live in a warm zone.
You probably cannot turn power off to your system so shorting any wires would be bad !!

Rh/Rc ------> red --------------> R (leave R jumper in place)
C ------------> brown ----------> C
O/B ---------> black -----------> O/B
Y ------------> blue -------------> Y
G ------------> green -----------> G

You need to program the Sensi:
Outdoor Equipment Configuration -------------> HP1
Indoor Equipment Configuration ---------------> FAn or possibly EL1. Try FAn first.
AUX or E heat will not do anything as you don't have aux heat.

W/R IF83-0431 manual - pdf
 
b.arnav voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 06-11-22, 05:52 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Pete,

Thanks a lot for your reply, much appreciated! I am new to this stuff so, I have some follow up questions, please!

•I also was wondering the same thing - why was there a wire between W/2 and W/E if nothing was coming from the wall? I assumed the 'C' wire was powering it, which sounds like I have no idea what I am talking about!

•Just to confirm, I should not put a jumper wire between W2 and W/E when I connect the Sensi?

•I have an individual electric panel in-unit which I am certain has a switch for the individual AC units - I will confirm this when I go there next, but I am sure I saw it! I definitely do not want to short anything

• For the backup heat - I definitely do not live in a warm zone as I am in Canada, which has some very fun winters! You said 'I do not have backup heat' which means currently the system is not wired for it, so not a concern with the Sensi either? I am assuming in general backup heat is recommended?

•On the Sensi wire terminal, there are two terminals - RH and RC - based on my posted picture, I was going to plug it into RH since that is how it is now; would you recommend RH or RC for the Sensi, or it does not matter?

My apologies for the barrage of questions, please excuse my ignorance, but I am most willing to learn and do this on my own! Thanks!
 
  #4  
Old 06-12-22, 01:20 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,130
Received 2,965 Votes on 2,675 Posts
It doesn't matter if you use Rh or Rc as long as the jumper is there between the two.
The thermostat should come with the jumper in place.

Your old thermostat does not indicate aux heat.
There would need to be an external wire connected to W2 or W/E.
Maybe it fell out and is in the wall ?
If not... you need to find out what the aux heat actually is.

If the breaker controls the blower section.... turn it off when wiring.
 
b.arnav voted this post useful.
  #5  
Old 06-12-22, 02:15 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Pete,

Thanks for the clarifications - I did check my electric panel today and there is a switch for the HEAT PUMP so no shorting of wires!!

I will be purchasing the Sensi thermostat this week and try to install it and set it up how you had mentioned in your first reply - will absolutely keep you posted!

I will try to find out what the jumper between W2 and W/E is for, but I do not think anyone in the building will give me a straight answer -fingers crossed though!

On a side note - today when I turned of the main breaker switch for the Heat Pump, after I turned it back on, the fan would not kick in until I lowered the temperature till about 68 - I had set it to AUTO for 70, but it had me mad nervous when the fan did not kick in after turning on the breaker switch. Any reason why this happens? Even when I set the fan to ON, it did not kick in!
 
  #6  
Old 06-12-22, 04:28 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,130
Received 2,965 Votes on 2,675 Posts
Someone in your building must know what the backup heat is.

Is that a 2P (double breaker) ?
What is the amperage on it ?
 
b.arnav voted this post useful.
  #7  
Old 06-13-22, 09:05 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Pete,

I will find out what the backup heat is, will ask the property manager!

As for the breaker, it is a double breaker meaning there are two switches fused into one, that controls the breaker!

Amperage I am not sure, where could I find that on the electrical panel?



 
  #8  
Old 06-13-22, 09:38 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,130
Received 2,965 Votes on 2,675 Posts
The amperage should be on the breaker handle.
 
b.arnav voted this post useful.
  #9  
Old 06-14-22, 07:43 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I will check the amperage today/tomorrow (I am not staying at the new place just yet!) and post back here Pete - my sincerest gratitude for your help till now!!
 
  #10  
Old 06-15-22, 08:47 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

Switches marked 30 control the Heat Pump

Hi Pete,

Please see above and let me know if this is helpful
 
  #11  
Old 06-17-22, 09:26 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,130
Received 2,965 Votes on 2,675 Posts
The 2P30 breaker would be sized to run a heat pump but no backup electric heat.
 
b.arnav voted this post useful.
  #12  
Old 06-20-22, 10:13 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just surmise then, I will be good with the Sensi Smart Touch Thermostat and will wire it the way you had described earlier? Thanks!
 
  #13  
Old 07-03-22, 05:05 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Pete,

I finally got around to installing the thermostat on Friday, and it worked perfectly! Connected as per your first post and followed the settings you posted - cooling is working perfectly, I have not gotten a chance to check the heat just yet.

Thanks a lot for your guidance and patience, much appreciated!!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: