Tip - can't change Honeywell Prestige IAQ thermostat date & time


  #1  
Old 08-03-22, 03:56 PM
Nortonics's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 36
Received 7 Votes on 6 Posts
Tip - can't change Honeywell Prestige IAQ thermostat date & time

I just experienced a strange issue with my Honeywell Prestige IAQ thermostat and I think others may benefit from what I learned.

Earlier today I updated the software (from software revision 05.00.00.00 to 05.04.04.00) of my Honeywell Prestige thermostat (THX9421). An hour ago I realized the update set my date and time back to the factory default settings when the thermostat comes new from the factory - some date in 2013, at some incorrect time.

So I try changing my date and time by touching the date & time on the HOME screen - NOTHING HAPPENS. Does not offer the option to make changes. Furthermore there is no configuration screen that can be accessed to make such changes either, not even in the installer setup.

This drove me nuts for the past hour. I finally reset the thermostat back to factory defaults and configured fresh. Interestingly when setting it back up fresh after the factory reset there was no screen that offered to change the date & time. So I finished setup and the HOME screen appears (still with the wrong date & time). I press the date & time and voilą, it allows me to make the date & time changes needed.

So, if you can't change your date & time, reset the thermostat back to factory defaults and reconfigure. Once back at the HOME screen you should then be able to make date & time changes again.

Notes:
1) Resetting the thermostat back to factory defaults does not affect the software update I applied. The thermostat still has the new software update applied.
2) After the factory reset a new choice within the MENU appears - Date/Time. That choice was NOT available before issuing a factory reset. So you can change the date & time in two ways, either with that MENU item, or simply touching the date & time on the HOME screen.
 
  #2  
Old 08-04-22, 01:15 AM
N
Member
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 37
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I ran into this issue too with my Prestige IAQ stat. For maybe a year now, my clock on the thermostat has been wrong, and you couldn't set the time. It was out by like 14 minutes or some odd number. The area you would touch to set the time did nothing. I tried everything I could think of short of resetting the thermostat.

It was bugging me that the time was wrong, so after some digging on the internet, I found a tip. Apparently if this happens, you should remove the Redlink gateway pairing from the thermostat, and you can then set the time just fine. That procedure worked for me. Even after pairing the gateway again, I retained the ability to set the time.

So something got messed up somewhere in both our setups. I don't know what it is, whether it was some firmware update or whether it is just a bug of some type. I would speculate that when you did the reset on the thermostat, it cleared the Redlink pairing, and that is what allowed you to regain this function.
 
Nortonics voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 08-04-22, 01:28 AM
Nortonics's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 36
Received 7 Votes on 6 Posts
Hey Neon, your fix could well be the solution as I just posted another tip earlier about losing my RedLink gateway connection after that same software update. I got it back connected, but not before dealing with the time & date issue. Interesting, very interesting, but stoopid!
 
  #4  
Old 08-04-22, 05:31 AM
Nortonics's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 36
Received 7 Votes on 6 Posts
Neon, you are exactly correct! After reading your tip, I went and checked my stat, and sure enough I could not change the time again, the MENU item to do so was again missing as well! So I did exactly as you said, removed the gateway, and sure enough, I could change the time again. So I re-added the gateway, and sure enough I could still change the time! Obviously my tip was incorrect - resetting the thermostat to factory defaults was NOT the solution - your tip was the solution.

That is so weird. What's up with that?! I'm going to try and submit this issue to Honeywell/Resideo and see if they respond to it. Thanks much for posting your solution!
 
  #5  
Old 08-04-22, 05:53 AM
Nortonics's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 36
Received 7 Votes on 6 Posts
I just submitted a a request to Honeywell for a technical fix using the 'Feedback' option on their Honeywell Home Total Connect Comfort homepage - https://mytotalconnectcomfort.com/portal/
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: