Replace Whalen thermostat with Google Nest Thermostat


  #1  
Old 01-02-23, 06:02 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2023
Posts: 3
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Replace Whalen thermostat with Google Nest Thermostat

Hi, new here, seeing a lot of useful information so I want to try DIY as well.

I am in a multi-unit condominium which has an very old Whalen thermostat. For now, I only remove the cover to check the sub-base which is T834C 1830.

Before I buy Google Nest Thermostat, I want to confirm couple things.

1, My Whalen thermostat is 24V (NOT 110/120V) which is compatible with Google Nest Thermostat.
2, There are 2 types Nest Thermostat: Nest Learning Thermostat and Nest Thermostat. Which one should I buy? or I can use either of them.

Any help or guidance would be appreciated, pictures below.



 
  #2  
Old 01-02-23, 06:52 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,532
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
The learning model is probably okay for 1 or 2 system houses if the homeowner doesn't mind helping the thermostat learn their schedule over time. I wouldn't pick it.

I have had calls that were caused by thermostat turning off heat in the kitchen or upstairs because no one was in that area over night. I turned that feature off in those cases.

Nest thermostats work better with a common wire. Your old stat does not require a common wire. The stat wires are behind the existing thermostat. Your current stat likely uses 4 and the new stat needs 5 conductors. You might check to see if you also need the Nest power connector.



 
Kaman Wu voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 01-02-23, 08:16 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2023
Posts: 3
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for replying.
I am in a condominium which use a centralized HVAC system.
In my unit, I only have this whalen thermostat to control: fan/cool/heat, as well as the temperature.

I did not remove the sub-base to check the base panel, but I think it only has 4 wires, NOT 5.

Just want to double confirm it is 24V
thermostat, NOT 110/120V since Nest Thermostat does not support 110/120V.

 
  #4  
Old 01-02-23, 08:52 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,930
Received 4,139 Upvotes on 3,717 Posts
Yes... that is a low voltage thermostat.
 
Kaman Wu voted this post useful.
  #5  
Old 01-02-23, 12:42 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2023
Posts: 3
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Just find this post: Whalen mercury thermostat to Nest learning (Gen 3)

I think mine is almost same as that one, which only have R, G, Y and B wires
 
  #6  
Old 01-02-23, 01:55 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,532
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
No, Your thermostat is nothing like that high voltage one.
Not even close.
 
  #7  
Old 01-02-23, 01:57 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,532
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
Don't look up the name.
Look up the part number in your picture.

T834C
 
  #8  
Old 01-02-23, 04:44 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,930
Received 4,139 Upvotes on 3,717 Posts
In that thread you referenced.... it was hijacked by a second poster.
Your system and thermostat are similar to what was posted only in the first post.

That OP used the nest without a C wire. With the older nest it may have worked ok.
The newer nest thermostats almost require a C wire to operate reliably.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: