Low shower head pressure

Old 02-16-05, 03:46 PM
manmeet72
Visiting Guest
Low shower head pressure

We recently purchased a 6 year old house. The water pressure in all the kitchen and shower faucets is good except for ONE shower head. It is uniformly poor for both the hot and cold water. I have changed the shower cap but to no avail. There is no obvious calcium derbris in the pipe either.Any input would be appreciated...I'm a novice; so kindly use simple language while posting a reply. Thank you in advance!!

Old 02-16-05, 05:57 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi manmeet72,
Welcome to the DIY Forums.
You don't say if you have a single handle valve or a dual handle. Is this a tub/shower unit or just a shower?

Either way you could have a defectve deverter or something plugging the inlets to the valves or to the shower head.

Have you tried taking the shower head off and running the water? This will let you know if its the valve or the head its self. You could also have a special low pressure shower head on this shower. The new "gentle rain" type shower heads have very little pressure.

Good Luck and reply back if you have further questions

Old 02-17-05, 11:18 AM
manmeet72
Visiting Guest
Low water pressure

The shower is exclusive, i.e., there is no tub attached.
It is "dual" with both hot and cold water controls.
On removing the shower head, the pressure is still low.
Thank you!!

Old 02-17-05, 11:39 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts