new bathtub/shower combo has no floor support

Old 12-18-07, 06:22 PM
N
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unhappy new bathtub/shower combo has no floor support

My new homes master bath tub enclosure has no support under the tub, between it and the sub-flooring, other than one 2-by-4 board set close to and parallel with the tub wall-side of the enclosure. When we step into the tub and move around, the tub often makes a popping or cracking noise, and I worry that the lack of support underneath will eventually lead to a fracture of the tub floor. The tub enclosure backs up to the open wall joists above the inside steps leading down to the basement of the house, so I can access the back of the tub and view the underneath. Is there any type of expanding foam or other support material that I can inject under the tub to give it support?

Old 12-19-07, 12:29 PM
T
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm not a pro, so please wait for one them to chime in with some fix ideas.

HOWEVER, how new is "new?" I think I'd get the builder back in there to correct it. Is it the only shower in the house? If not and you have some kind of a warranty, maybe it needs to "accidently" break to get them back in to fix it right.

Why is there always time to re-do it?

Good luck,
Tom

Old 12-19-07, 12:41 PM
Super Moderator
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
no support

Amazing what they will do. My whirlpool tub in my last house was designed to be set in a mortar bed. They built the surround too high (maybe to isolate noise from the downstairs) and stuffed scrap lumber underneath the built-in support wood. Took me forever to figure why the caulk joint between the tub/shower and tile walls was constantly seperating.