Leaking from in front of toilet

Old 01-12-08, 06:36 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Leaking from in front of toilet

I have a leaking toilet. I've never worked on a toilet before. Most of my plumbing knowledge comes from fixing faucets, so bear with me.

It seems to be leaking from the base in front of the toilet. The odd thing is not all the time. I've put red food dye into the toilet bowl and waited but no red water will appear in front of the toilet. This even after a few hours. I've looked for leaks from fittings or the supply line, but none there either.

The toilet doesn't rock. It looks flush on the floor. I've read where the cause of this is that the ring needs replaced. I've also read to where one uses two rings?

Toilet brand:
Crane Plumbing
16 GPF on side of bowl
inside tank it says 17 DEC 2004

May be unrelated but worth mentioning. The bolts holding the toilet down to the floor are rusted badly. They have these lose fitting caps over them.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Last edited by mobile_man; 01-12-08 at 06:41 PM. Reason: spelling
Old 01-12-08, 11:15 PM
re: Leaking from in front of toilet

Sounds like the wax ring is bad (but I'm no plumber!) It's very easy (in my experience) to pull up a toilet and replace the wax ring. I'm sure you can find some site with play by play pictures to walk you through it. When I moved in to my home the vinyl was slightly discolored in front of the toilet but the toilet didn't rock and there was never any actual water visable but it did turn out that it was leaking from the drain. I replaced the wax ring and the problem was solved tho now 8 years later I do have some dry rot from the floor having been wet for an extended period of time. Good luck.

Old 01-13-08, 04:18 AM