Toilet Installation

Old 02-21-08, 05:19 AM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Toilet Installation

I had a toilet installed by a company several years ago. Recently, the toilet started wobbling when we sat on it. I hired the same company; although a subcontractor was sent in his place. He told me the problem was the flange was not bolted to the floor and thus was incorrectly installed originally. He said our leaning on it may be have loosened the wax ring and thus the wobbling. He also said he would not pay for this if he were me, as it was an installation issue. The plumbing company is now threatening to sue me saying it was a builder problem not an installation issue. I talked the subcontractor again and he said this is absolutely wrong and when toilets are installed, this should have been taken care of. What is the truth?

Sponsored Links
Old 02-21-08, 09:28 AM
I am a plumber, and when I install a flange, it is MY job to ensure they are secure.
They are trying to scare you. Call another plumber, have him/her pull the toilet, and screw the flange down. Should not take more than an hour.

Then call the BBB and file/log a complaint. They are playing pass the buck and this is what give the trades a bad name.

Curious, why would the plumbing company want to sue you?

Good Luck!

Old 02-21-08, 11:20 AM
S
I guess I am alittle confused. The original plumber said he only put in the toilet and the flange was the builder's deal. Should he have inspected the flange and then realized it was not bolted or does a plumber put in a new flange when he installs a new toilet? I am a single woman and know virtually nothing about plumbing. I hired him because he advertises as a "Christian" Plumber.
He is going to sue me because I am refusing to pay his bill. Put a lien on my house with interest which will prevent me from selling were his exact words.