Leaky Tub Spout - Stem Valves are fine...

Old 04-09-08, 04:39 PM
M
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Leaky Tub Spout - Stem Valves are fine...

This is my first time posting but, as a first-time homeowner, I have already greatly benefited from this forum. Thanks in advance for any thoughts on this problem.

So about a month ago we started to notice a slight drip in our bathtub spout. We have a 3-handle (hot,cold,diverter) tub/shower combo in a 30-yr old bathroom. Today I took out the stem valves and cleaned them up. The washers were in good shape and there was only slight corrosion. What is more puzzling is that the water continued to drip after i took out the stem valves. It was coming out of the pipe behind the valves (on both sides) even though the main water valve for the house was shut off. This worried me so I'm thinking of calling a plumber.

Any thoughts? I have read something about a piece in the pipe called the 'seat' but i'm not sure why it would still drip with the water off. Also, the way our strange house is set up, the drain access closet is under our kitchen cabinets and i dont have access to a shut-off valve for the tub.

i appreciate any advice on what else to check out...

Old 04-09-08, 05:02 PM
F
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
It is fairly common to not have individual shut-off valves for a bath tub.

The "seat" is the part of the valve that the "disc" (washer) closes against. Sometimes the seat is worn or has a cut in it so that the disc cannot make a good seal. Some seats are replaceable and some are not. Replaceable seats often require a special tool for removal and replacement. For the non-replaceable kind they make a tool for "refacing" the seat. Neither of these tools is very expensive, probably less than ten dollars each.