Shower/tub spout/diverter repair/replace for n00bs?

Old 07-12-08, 05:30 PM
A
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Shower/tub spout/diverter repair/replace for n00bs?

LOL what the subject says.

I just found this site and forum today and have been searching and reading all afternoon. I am a complete novice and am not looking for spoon-feeding by forum members; but please do point me to information that starts at the very beginning for rank beginners, if appropriate. I am willing to read and try and learn, if possible.

The situation: We bought new (almost finished being built), our now older home (1986). All-in-one fiberglass shower/tub enclosures with glass sliding doors in both bathrooms. The bathrooms share a side wall and are mirrors of each other... does that make sense? The shower/tub, toilet, and vanity plumbing is back to back on the wall shared with the other bathroom. Meaning there is not a way to get at the plumbing in the wall for either shower, without tearing out one of the fiberglass enclosures. But I'm hoping that won't be necessary?

The problem: The one bath that we use (the other is for guests and hardly used) has leaky temperature knobs (water leaking from underneath the decorative knob covers), leaking shower head (water drips from shower head), and tub spout diverter (pull up knob on top of the spout) sticks very hard and will only divert half the water.

See this page for PROFLO PFLL42A Double Handle Tub and Shower:

http://www.faucetdirect.com/index.cf...ished%20Chrome

I'm not entirely certain this is our exact brand. The appearance is remarkably similar to our set and I do know the contractor did not use expensive materials for this house :-) but I do not know if the 'innards' are the same as this brand.

My husband is normally a pretty good handyman, he feels it is risky to turn off the water to the house and disassemble the spout and knobs because there may not be an easy replacement without having to get at the plumbing in the wall.