Water Running into overflow tube?

Old 10-17-08, 08:43 AM
Water Running into overflow tube?

So I have this problem with my toilet. It keeps running no matter what. I have no plumming experience, so bare with me.

I believe one issue is the water is running into the overflow tube here. I can clearly see this if I take the top off and look in. I took some water out of it, quickly, to where it below the top of the overflow tube and that cleared it up, mostly (until it refilled, of course), so that is the main issue. But also, when I took the water out and water wasn't running into this tube, it still made a slight noise, like water running, perhaps. So there may be another issue as well.

Is there an easy way to fix this? I took a few photos of my set up, which I doubt is the current technology (I don't think the toilet was replaced before we bought this place and the house is now 20 years old - but I could be wrong!)

The toilet brand is Mansfield.

I'm not sure what else to say - I have a do-it-yourself book that says to bend the float arm, but 1) I don't have a float and 2) the arm that connects the flush handle to the overflow tube is very, very hard plastic and I don't think bendable. I am pretty sure the tank ball is seated to the valve seat pretty well and I don't see anywhere else I can adjust height of things....

Any pointers would be great!

Sponsored Links
Old 10-17-08, 08:48 AM
Super Moderator
Squeeze the little metal tab that attaches the moving black float to the arm attached to the lever on top of the fill valve on the left. Slide the float down a bit so the water level is lower.

Old 10-17-08, 09:24 AM
GG is right.There is a spring steel clip that allows you to adjust the float on the ballcock to adjust the water level.

FYI:

Since you aren't "knowledgeable" and seek to maintain the toilet yourself.