I want foot pedals for my sink, I think

Closed Thread

Old 03-29-09, 01:45 PM
Question I want foot pedals for my sink, I think

Hello,

I am interested to find out if anyone here has foot pedals on their kitchen sink? It seems like it could save water and make it safer to handle raw meats and things like that, has anybody tried? Are their any features that I should be looking for?

Thanks for any insight!

Sponsored Links
Old 03-29-09, 02:08 PM
nap
I've never seen them for a kitchen sink but it is a great idea imo. I am an electrician and currently working at a hospital where the faucets are generally foot pedal controlled or infrared sensor controlled.

you have a good idea. I am surprised the manufacturers have not sought the market but who knows why they haven't.

Old 03-29-09, 02:30 PM
Super Moderator
The foot controls are out there..but they aren't cheap. Check Kohlers site..I think they have them.

They do make sense, but you need the room under the kick to do it right. Don't want them sticking out into the walk area.

Old 03-29-09, 04:35 PM
Super Moderator
Welcome to our forums!

We have them in the hospital I work at and I doubt you would want to pay the price.
Also, they need a different space for installation than how a normal kitchen cabinet is built.

Hands free infra red might be the way to go but you would likely not really save much water and would be greatly inconvenienced when filing pots and such.
I find that for them to be convenient to use you need to have a fairly long delay before shutting off or you find yourself waving your hands to keep the water running.

Restaurants have no trouble with sanitation when they regularly wipe down surfaces.

Old 03-29-09, 05:52 PM
Thanks for the ideas. I checked the Kohler site, WOW you were right, they were expensive. I also checked into the infrared ones, I agree with GregH that they are not very practical, plus I don't see how you could choose hot or cold separately.