Flapper won't seal over drain


  #1  
Old 04-11-09, 05:51 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Flapper won't seal over drain

I've replaced an old corroded flapper with a new one, but when the flush lever is released, the flapper doesn't seal over the drain. The drain hole seems to be in good shape, and the chain to the flush lever seems long enough. I'm not sure what is supposed to make sure the flapper actually closes over the drain when the flush lever is released. Thanks for any advice!
 

Last edited by awagner99; 04-11-09 at 06:47 PM.
  #2  
Old 04-11-09, 09:48 PM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,982
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Does it seal if you push it by hand? Are there different holes on the lever to attach the chain? Use the hole directly over the flapper.
 
  #3  
Old 04-12-09, 04:48 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, if I push and hold it in, it seals. Otherwise it doesn't. I don't remember there being more than one hole in the lever.
 
  #4  
Old 04-12-09, 05:28 AM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,982
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The chain should should be pulling at a 90% angle to the flapper. That's why I asked if there were other holes in the lever.
 
  #5  
Old 04-12-09, 08:33 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,957
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is possible you may simply have a bad flapper.flappers are molded rubber or vinyl and sometimes they come out wrong.If you can't get it to work right by adjusting the chain and being certain the lip doesn't have any build up on it try replacing it with a new flapper.

Also there are a few toilets that take a specific flapper.If yours is one of those and you put a so-called universal flapper in it it will not seal.
 
  #6  
Old 04-12-09, 08:36 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply. The flapper that's in there is brand new - I already replaced the old one. I'll get the model number of the toilet and see if it needs a special one. Given my lack of handy skills, it's probably more likely to be something I'm doing wrong than a bad brand new flapper Thanks again!
 
  #7  
Old 04-12-09, 03:20 PM
plumbermandan's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 896
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
it is either a bad "new" flapper or it is the wrong flapper
 
  #8  
Old 04-12-09, 03:45 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Actually, I got it to work. It's one of those that has both the ears and the circular part. I had forgotten to cut the circular part out, but didn't think it was interfering. But when I took it back out, cut that off, and put it back on by the ears, it seemed to work fine. Thanks guys!
 
  #9  
Old 04-12-09, 03:56 PM
plumbermandan's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 896
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yep, if you have the ears the ring has to be removed or the flapper gets confused
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: