Disposal won't respond after DW install

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-24-10, 07:02 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Disposal won't respond after DW install

A couple days ago, I had a dishwasher installed. Since then, my disposal is non-functioning. Not just stuck, but makes no noise when the switch is flipped. I've checked to make sure it's plugged in, checked any nearby GFI's to make sure none are tripped, checked the fuse to make sure it's not tripped, etc.

Any ideas? The DW and disposal are on the same circuit. Seems like a major coincidence that the disposal no longer works as soon as a new DW is installed.
 
  #2  
Old 09-24-10, 10:12 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 24,685
Received 783 Votes on 720 Posts
It's possible that the installer took the line that used to feed the outlet and used it for the dish washer or the installer tied in the dish washer at the outlet and forgot to hook the outlet back up. If you have a electrical meter or an outlet tester, check the disposal outlet to see if it has power.
 
  #3  
Old 09-24-10, 11:36 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Using an extension cord plug the disposal into a known good receptacle. Does it run?

Is the dishwasher plugged in or hard wired?
checked the fuse to make sure it's not tripped,
Fuses do not trip, they blow. Do you mean breaker? Did you turn it all the way off then back on?
 
  #4  
Old 09-24-10, 12:23 PM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,622
Received 98 Votes on 86 Posts
If it isn't the breaker, I'd call the installer back and have them fix their mistake
 
  #5  
Old 09-24-10, 01:43 PM
shacko's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Baltimore County Maryland
Posts: 2,137
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Disposal Problem

Most disposals have a red reset button on the bottom, did you try that?
 
  #6  
Old 09-24-10, 03:29 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,090
Received 9 Votes on 7 Posts
I agree its probably the reset button on the bottom....and its a disposer, not a disposal.
 
  #7  
Old 09-24-10, 06:18 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Appreciate all the help and sorry for the incorrect terminology. I had checked the reset switch...sorry for not mentioning.

I did run an extension cord to a known working outlet and the disposal kicked on so it sounds like some wires got crossed, so to speak.

Again, appreciate the info and am calling the installer now.
 
  #8  
Old 09-24-10, 07:43 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,090
Received 9 Votes on 7 Posts
Angry

Disposer, not disposal . Just giving you a hard time. By the way, someone needs to fix the title of this forum.
 
  #9  
Old 09-25-10, 02:16 PM
shacko's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Baltimore County Maryland
Posts: 2,137
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
[QUOTE=mossman;1772021]Disposer, not disposal . Just giving you a hard time. By the way, someone needs to fix the title of this forum.[/QUOTE

It could be ether one.

Garbage Disposal Troubleshooting - Fixing a Garbage Disposer
 
  #10  
Old 09-25-10, 02:26 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,112
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
How bout this.....garburator / garbarator......lol.

Check the Wiki entry....
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: