Disposal won't respond after DW install

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-24-10, 07:02 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Disposal won't respond after DW install

A couple days ago, I had a dishwasher installed. Since then, my disposal is non-functioning. Not just stuck, but makes no noise when the switch is flipped. I've checked to make sure it's plugged in, checked any nearby GFI's to make sure none are tripped, checked the fuse to make sure it's not tripped, etc.

Any ideas? The DW and disposal are on the same circuit. Seems like a major coincidence that the disposal no longer works as soon as a new DW is installed.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-24-10, 10:12 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 21,423
Received 299 Votes on 273 Posts
It's possible that the installer took the line that used to feed the outlet and used it for the dish washer or the installer tied in the dish washer at the outlet and forgot to hook the outlet back up. If you have a electrical meter or an outlet tester, check the disposal outlet to see if it has power.
 
  #3  
Old 09-24-10, 11:36 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Using an extension cord plug the disposal into a known good receptacle. Does it run?

Is the dishwasher plugged in or hard wired?
checked the fuse to make sure it's not tripped,
Fuses do not trip, they blow. Do you mean breaker? Did you turn it all the way off then back on?
 
  #4  
Old 09-24-10, 12:23 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,393
Received 59 Votes on 55 Posts
If it isn't the breaker, I'd call the installer back and have them fix their mistake
 
  #5  
Old 09-24-10, 01:43 PM
shacko's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Baltimore County Maryland
Posts: 2,138
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Disposal Problem

Most disposals have a red reset button on the bottom, did you try that?
 
  #6  
Old 09-24-10, 03:29 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,933
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I agree its probably the reset button on the bottom....and its a disposer, not a disposal.
 
  #7  
Old 09-24-10, 06:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Appreciate all the help and sorry for the incorrect terminology. I had checked the reset switch...sorry for not mentioning.

I did run an extension cord to a known working outlet and the disposal kicked on so it sounds like some wires got crossed, so to speak.

Again, appreciate the info and am calling the installer now.
 
  #8  
Old 09-24-10, 07:43 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,933
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Angry

Disposer, not disposal . Just giving you a hard time. By the way, someone needs to fix the title of this forum.
 
  #9  
Old 09-25-10, 02:16 PM
shacko's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Baltimore County Maryland
Posts: 2,138
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
[QUOTE=mossman;1772021]Disposer, not disposal . Just giving you a hard time. By the way, someone needs to fix the title of this forum.[/QUOTE

It could be ether one.

Garbage Disposal Troubleshooting - Fixing a Garbage Disposer
 
  #10  
Old 09-25-10, 02:26 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
How bout this.....garburator / garbarator......lol.

Check the Wiki entry....
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: