can you lubricate a shower faucet catridge

Old 02-12-12, 06:32 PM
L
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
can you lubricate a shower faucet catridge

have a very old (at least 20 year and likely 30 plus) cartridge and the shower wasnt used heavily for about a decade..then i started using it every day.

the plastic knob broke so it just spun so i had an extra i put on it...but the thing is still so hard to turn and push in and out, you need to spin it to actually turn it off

i'm not good at plumbing...is it hard to take one out? and will one even be 'drop in' since that old or all standard?

Old 02-12-12, 06:44 PM
Super Moderator
Received 69 Votes on 61 Posts
If your pulling it in and out its probably a cartridge that can be replaced.

Can you take a pic or give a name of the faucet?

Mike NJ

Old 02-13-12, 09:52 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
turn off the water.
Then remove the knob.
Removed the scussion from around the stem/cartridge. They are pretty self explanatory really after that. yes you can lube up a cartridge with plumbers grease but if you already have it apart just change the cartridge or stem. you can also lube up the new one to extend some extra life into it and save wear on the washers and o rings.

Old 02-13-12, 06:02 PM
L
no brand on it even after i took off the plate..holy cow lotta cold air coming up from the crawlspace

took pic but software is on other computer so will have to upload another time...i see a sleeve outside the cartridge and was a gasket on that sleeve.

thing is, i dont see how to remove the cartridge at all..and i know once this is started must be finished so want to wait until saturday so have all day to play..just getting ducks in a row now..assuming if i get it off just walk in lowes and the def will have one since they are all standard? dont wanna risk replacing entire thing!

Old 02-13-12, 06:11 PM
Super Moderator