HELP! Clogged, gurgling apartment toilet

Old 03-23-13, 02:30 PM
A
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
HELP! Clogged, gurgling apartment toilet

Hello everyone. This is my first post and I am humbly asking for a bit of help.

Background: I live in an apartment and we have on-site maintenance, but I'm only home after-hours during the week and we don't have any maintenance dudes around on the weekends. I'm an engineer and prefer to do my own work as opposed to paying somebody a ton of money to come in. Plus it's not like I'm dripping wads of money for a plumber whenever my toilets go south.

The problem: So one of my two toilets is acting up. The sequence goes like this: 1) Toilet is empty; 2) I flush it and the toilet fills, air bubbles pop out of the full toilet, and it comes to rest with a full bowl; 3) It slowly drains (the amount of time to drain has been as much as 5 minutes but it's down to about 20 seconds after A LOT of plunging); 4) When it finally drains, it gurgles air bubbles again and the only water left is maybe a 2" diameter puddle at the top of the drainage orifice.

What I've tried: Lots of plunging, unsuccessful amateur snaking, and professional help. The professional was our maintenance guy whom I paid to come out on a Saturday. He plunged and snaked, and the toilet worked for about 6 hours before it went back to the exact condition I described above.

I'm lost: We just bought some Draino, which colleagues with some plumbing experience have told me is OK to use in toilets, but I'm nervous to put that nasty sauce down there if it's really fubar.

Please help!

Old 03-23-13, 03:29 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,342 Votes on 1,240 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I'm not a Draino fan and haven't heard too many success stories with it either.

Did the maintenance guy have any idea ? Those guys should know the issues those buildings have. It sounds like a clog on one hand and a vent issue on the other hand.

Are you in a basement apartment ?

Old 03-23-13, 04:47 PM