Which came first the Toilet or the floor?

Old 04-20-13, 09:12 AM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Which came first the Toilet or the floor?

In the early 70's I was an electrician apprentice and I had plenty of opportunity to see what, and how, plumbers did their jobs. If a bath had linoleum flooring the toilet was installed before the linoleum was laid. If the bath had ceramic tile the toilet was installed after the tile. Which is correct?

I am remodeling my home that was built in 1968. The 1/2 bath had carpet which, to my way of thinking, is nasty. The full bath has white tile and the toilet seems to be sitting on top of the tile. The 1/2 bath had cheap, peel the backing off, tile under the carpet. It seems to have been cut to fit around the toilet. There is a 1/4 plywood sheet, painted black, under the tile. I want to use ceramic tile in the 1/2 bath. Should I lay the tile first or replace the toilet first? Should the underlayment be discarded and replaced with new or can I put the tile over the old underlayment. Finally will the flange and wax seal need to be modified for a newer toilet? I could use some help as I am way out of my comfort zone here. Code here says that I can replace fixtures because they are service related items as long as I don't modify the original plumbing.

The 1/2 bath is having the drywall replaced as of the time of this request for help and I am ready to put the drywall on the sink/toilet wall so I am ready to pull the toilet. I just want to install the new toilet as soon as possible.

Old 04-20-13, 11:29 AM
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Lay the tile first is how I always do it be it ceramic or vinyl. A lot easier then trying to cut around a toilet then fix your mistakes with caulk.

There is a 1/4 plywood sheet, painted black, under the tile