How to demolish shower wall w/ lathe?

Old 04-29-13, 09:16 PM
J
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to demolish shower wall w/ lathe?

hello everyone

I am remodeling a walk in shower stall. It it only 13 years old and works normally but it's is purely for a changing the ugly tile on it w/ warmer porcelain look. While at it, we want to add body sprays and handheld shower bar.

I have removed some tiles on the walls and the floor. They came off rather easy.
Behind the wall tile, we have a cement mud w/ a metal lathe over a drywalls.

First question, what is the best wast to remove down to stud?

Regarding the floor, what is best, remove everything, replace the iron cast drain?

All I want is the quickest way (but leak free) so that we can tile it again. I am familiar w/ tiling, but this is my first time, w/ a shower, w/ deck mud, shower pan, drain, which seems a bit overwhelming. I understand how traditional showers are built, but it seems a lot of work. Whatever is the easiert, I will take it.

Would you have advices for a shower newbie?

Many thanks

Attached Images    
Old 04-30-13, 07:06 AM
Received 14 Votes on 12 Posts
How come any demo I perform, the tiles never pop off that easy or cleanly?....

To take the walls down to studs and the floor down to wood you will need either a small demo hammer or a hammer drill that has a hammer only (no rotation) function. A large sledge hammer if you want a real workout. You need to chip a 1" to 2" vertical groove from top to bottom on the wall. Focus your area between the studs and get down to the wire lathe. Cut the wire lathe and the sections should lift out. Wear heavy leather gloves, a good mask or respirator and set a fan up in the window blowing OUT to draw the dust to the outside. Work not larger than 16" x 16" chunks as they will be very heavy. Be careful as the lathe is sharp and you could easily get cut.