How do I remove bolts in tight spaces? My first post & thread! Hello, everyone!

Old 12-13-13, 12:58 PM
N
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cool How do I remove bolts in tight spaces? My first post & thread! Hello, everyone!

First off, hi guys, nice to meet you all! I'm a total newbie here, just registered yesterday and looking to start posting today! This looks like a pretty cool DIY forum! I would like to go all out DIY becoming a amateur (maybe pro one day) carpenter, plumber, etc, and perhaps I become one of them now already. Glad to be here!

I'm going to replace my existing toilet because it is rather old, leaks and the lever is broken. So I started taking out some bolts and nuts, but I was slowed down by a problem..

Alright here is the issue. Okay so, I have these bolts I need to remove that are on the bottom of the toilet tank in order to remove it, and the toilet bowl to replace.. and so I have tried using a small 6 inch adjustable wrench to try and remove the bolt all the way in the back, but it didn't work. Plan B. I tried using what you call a ratchet driver... but the driver's power nut bits wasn't long and hollow enough inside and it... sadly it just didn't work out. So now here I am a bit frustrated and delayed by it. I'm not sure what tool to use and do next. I was able to take out one bolt, but that was because the space wasn't tight..

Here are some pictures.

Here is my toilet been using for a good 10 years.

Under the toilet and it's tank.

Any help on how to remove that bolt in that such tight space would greatly be appreciated.

Thanks a lot guys.

-William

Old 12-13-13, 01:22 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 75 Votes on 68 Posts
To replace whole toilet you don't have to take tank off unless to to make it lighter to carry. Just disconnect water supply and 2 floor bolts and lift off wax seal.

Old 12-13-13, 01:27 PM
Super Moderator
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts