Water damage from shower

Old 05-06-14, 03:21 PM
C
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Water damage from shower

Hi everyone, I'm new here. I'm also new to home owning and know relatively little about home improvement. Next to nothing about plumbing.

We bought a house a few months ago. Three weeks after we moved in, I discovered a water leak in our downstairs bathroom. Our home is under warranty, and the plumber determined it was coming from the shower. He took the plate of the shower handle and it was dripping on the hot water side next to the handle connection. He said the plumber who installed the shower never clamped the pipe (we bought a flipped house and the shower is a new build).

The back of the shower is a short wall with a wall running perpendicular into it. On both sides of the perpendicular wall, there are built in shelves. One side in the bathroom and one side in a bedroom. The bedroom appeared to receive the most water damage as the baseboards got really warped, carpet got wet, and drywall got wet. I cut the drywall at the bottom of the shelves out, maybe about a foot tall worth of drywall to expose the back of the shower (well, half of it anyway). The wall in the bathroom appeared to not have much water damage so I took the baseboards off and left it alone to dry.

So only part of the studs behind the shower are exposed which are the ones in the bedroom. We've let it air out for what has been over a month now. We've purchased a moisture reader to make sure the wall and the studs are drying out. The corner directly over the shower drip was in the 16% moisture range about a month ago. With some fans and open windows, we were able to get the number down to 8%. We do not use this shower frequently. After we do use it, the moisture in the stud behind the shower has gone up to 10-12%. Now this has me worried there is still some sort of leak, and I'm afraid to patch the hole in the wall because I don't know if there are further problems.