Shower drain cover area disintegration

Old 08-06-14, 11:59 AM
K
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Shower drain cover area disintegration

The plastic drain hole cover in my tiled shower floor had come loose and when I removed it the concrete around it had disintegrated. If I put fresh tile grout around it and push it back into place will that be sufficient to use again? I don't really know what else to do with it but the man in Mitre 10 filled me full of dread!

Old 08-06-14, 01:45 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Karin, welcome to the forums! Not sure what plastic cover you are referring to. Could you post a picture or two of the problem area so we can see what you are seeing? Thanks. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...your-post.html

Old 08-07-14, 01:42 PM
K
Hello and Thank you...I am not good with cameras but its the only drain hole cover in the floor of the shower, The little round white plastic grip / cap that stops things from falling done the shower drain pipe in the floor...it was loose and falling in the hole.... The cement around it has all disintegrated. I put the grout around where it come out butnow it wont sit flush with the floor tiles again, and I dont know whether I need to take all the tiles up, or get a plumber or whether what I have done will do...or what to do really. Do you want my phone number? That might be easier

Old 08-07-14, 01:50 PM
K
The white plastic Grid, not grip. I took some photos but it says they are too large - I dont know how to make them smaller

Old 08-07-14, 01:53 PM
S
Group Moderator
Received 97 Votes on 85 Posts
Old 08-07-14, 01:58 PM
K
http://i1038.photobucket.com/albums/...g?t=1407441313
on this one you can see the ready mix grout stuff the Mitre 10 guy told me to get in the tube bottom left corner