Need to remove shower studs liquid nailed to floor

Old 03-30-15, 06:28 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need to remove shower studs liquid nailed to floor

Hello everyone,

Im new to the DIY forum and while somewhat mechanically inclined on vehicles, this hope repair is a bit of a learning curve.

We have a shower that was redone few years back and the tile work was not only atrocious, but we have some water damage to studs and backboards.

I just tore everything out, however the studs framing the entrance to the shower appear to be liquid nailed to concrete floor. Is there an tip or trick to getting them out easier?

I have hammered it was a medium size sledge hammer but the whole shower area shakes, so before i do any damage I thought I would ask here.

Also, there are 3 2X4's glued together that would form the step to step into the shower that need to be removed.

Thanks in advance for any help with this. Have a great day.

Name:  step.jpg
Views: 301
Size:  24.1 KBName:  stud2.jpg
Views: 262
Size:  22.9 KBName:  stud.jpg
Views: 326
Size:  30.0 KB

Sponsored Links
Old 03-30-15, 07:00 AM
Group Moderator
Received 184 Votes on 171 Posts
Start by prying up the 2x4 on top. It's possible there is an anchor bolt or nails underneath that you can't see. Unless it has a bolt that you can remove the nut then you'll just have to get under the bottom plate with a pry bar and break it loose.

Old 03-30-15, 07:01 AM
Temporarily Suspended
A sawzall should cut through all of it.

Old 03-30-15, 09:40 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 9 Votes on 7 Posts
Cut it into smaller pieces either into 2 or 3 pieces and work on the smaller units. I will guess that it is anchored either into the concrete, or toe-nailed into the framework at the edges.

I think you are seeing what happens when grout is used in transitions from horizontal to vertical instead of a flexible caulking. Same goes for the inside corners of the walls.

Was drywall used instead of cement board as well?