Bathtub spout (brand new) leaks from the back.

Old 10-11-16, 11:05 PM
C
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Bathtub spout (brand new) leaks from the back.

Hey everyone, new go the forum, I just purchased my first house, I'm new to fixing things and I really have no one to turn to for help. I hope I can get some help here!

So the spout that originally came with the tub wasn't long enough so the water would pour into the back of the tub and spill onto the floor, so I bought a new longer spout.

I have watched numerous youtube videos and I seem to be doing everything they are doing, simply sliding the new spout onto the copper pipe and screwing in the screw under neath the spout. Only problem is when I turn my tub on, I get a bunch of water that spits out of the spout where it meets the wall. And when I pull the water diverter it REALLY starts to leak out the back.

What could possibly be going wrong? Clearly the copper pipe isn't sealing inside the new spout. But I have no clue how to fix this issue. I've tried going to Google for an answer with no luck.

------------------------------------------------------
The spout I bought is

"Moen 7" slip fit diverter tub spout m1491"

The pipe that sticks out of my wall is 1 and 7/8 inches. No threads. Just a copper pipe. The back of the package says 1 and 1/2 inches to 2 and 7/8 inches will work for this spout.

-all components look to be in good shape with the new spout, including o rings.

- the copper pipe out of wall isn't leaking, I have plugged it to check. It is a little bit bent on the bottom and flattened a little from being screwed against with a set screw by the looks of it.

Instructions on back of spout packaging are this simple

1. Loosen set screw
2. Slide spout over copper pipe until back of spout is flush with wall.
3. Tighten set screw. Check for leaks.

That's what it says word for word. Nothing more on what to do in case of leak.

Any advice is very much appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Old 10-12-16, 05:13 AM