American Standard Tub Faucet Handle Stuck on Stem

Old 07-15-17, 07:41 AM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
American Standard Tub Faucet Handle Stuck on Stem

Hello! Newbie here looking for some tips. I have an American Standard Tub/Shower Diverter Set in one of my bathrooms. The H/C faucets started dripping unless you tighten them very tight so I decided to replace both stems. I was able to remove the handle for the Hot side relatively easily and successfully replace the stem. The Cold side has been a different story. I took the screw out and even after tapping with it and working it around I was unable to get it off so I sprayed it down with PB Blaster but would still not come off. I then ordered a handle puller. I have it on and tightened as far as I can go by hand but it still wont come off. I'm afraid I'm going to break something. The inside of the H handle had some corrosion in it but I can't imagine what has this other handle sticking so bad. Any tips? Should I get a wrench and continue to tighten the puller? Try and heat it up with a torch? Should I try to get a grip on the chrome stem cover with a pipe wrench and see if I can loosen the entire stem assembly that way without scarring the cover too bad? Thanks!

Name:  Faucet.jpg
Views: 3095
Size:  19.5 KB

Old 07-15-17, 09:12 AM
H
Received 8 Upvotes on 7 Posts
You are doing everything that I know of. I encountered one of these several years ago that I simply could not remove. I went in from the back and replaced the entire rough in. If you do get it off, put a dab of grease on the splines to prevent a repeat.

Old 07-15-17, 09:31 AM
Group Moderator
Received 1,910 Upvotes on 1,716 Posts
Lightly tap on the head and sides of the puller with a hammer. Use Lime Away, not PB Blaster. Be careful if you use a torch on the handle, it will easily discolor it.