Cold and snow!!

Old 12-30-17, 08:22 AM
Super Moderator
Cold and snow!!

I'm ready for summer! I hate this arctic cold and now it's snowing today, too! They're calling for another week of cold. We're not used to this extended, extreme cold around here.
Don't know how people up north deal with it.

Sponsored Links
Old 12-30-17, 08:37 AM
Group Moderator
Well they are saying -22F Sunday night and -20F Monday night around here... so hope the cars start in the morning. No way in hell I'm bringing the battery in.

Nothing can be as bad as the winter of '89 (yep, it was '89). 7 days straight where the high temp never got above 0F the highs were usually in the -10's... and every night it was -20 to -30F. THAT sucked.

My gf had dumped me... it was Christmas week... and I worked as a carry-out at a grocery store. Talk about cold! At work, one of my tires had frozen to the ground in the parking lot and when i went to move the car, it actually rolled the tire right off the rim. (Fixing that was fun) A couple days later the cold had worn the battery down and my car would no longer start (flooded + dead battery) and we had to tow it to my grandpa's.

But one good thing that came from that... that day we took the car to grandpa's (he said "i'll get it started for you".. and i thought "yeah right") that was the day I realized my grandpa was not just a crazy old coot... he took the spark plugs out, got his acetylene torch out (I thought oh my god he's gonna burn my car up) and he briefly held the torch up to each plug hole. Put the plugs back in... and started it right up!!! I told him he was a genius.

I was so astonished I about cried. Okay maybe that was still from the gf dumping me. LOL

Old 12-30-17, 08:52 AM
Super Moderator
Well I guess I'm thankful I don't live there! I'd 've been crying, too!

Old 12-30-17, 10:09 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Don't know how people up north deal with it.
Shady, I thought you were up north