Sheet vinyl in concrete floor garage

Old 11-09-06, 07:59 PM
K
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sheet vinyl in concrete floor garage

I've got a garage that was finished off - a bedroom and full bath was added. I am using it as a gym. The previous owners put down stick tiles directly on the concrete floor. They might have cleaned the floor a little after the dog that they kept there, but it doesn't smell like it.

I want to peel up the stick tiles, scour the heck out of the floor and put down .... something. First thought was sheet vinyl. I asked a rep at a hardware store if the sheet vinyl that doesn't need glue would work in that environment - concrete slab floor, not air conditioned all the time, no water, but can get humid. I was told that it wouldn't work - I'd get mold.

I am suspicious of that as I don't have mold now with the stick tiles - I just don't like them and need to clean underneath them. What would be the best way to redo the floor? I have no experience doing floors at all, but have a friend who is quite handy who would be able to help.

thanks,
k

Old 11-10-06, 08:57 AM
S