Self Adhesive Vinyl Tile with extra Adhesive

Old 05-24-07, 12:18 PM
L
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Self Adhesive Vinyl Tile with extra Adhesive

Hello,
I'm going to install vinyl tile over an existing vinyl floor. I plan to do a embosser skim coat the day prior to starting. I'm also going to use an extra adhesive. Previous posts state that I should wait an hour w/fans on it to get it tacky before installing the tiles.
My question is if I skim coat it w/the adhesive and wait an hour can I walk on the adhesive once it's tacky? If I put the adhesive all over the floor am I going to mess it up by walking on it to install the tile? What are your suggestions for dealing w/the tacky adhesive? I'm also supposed to start the tiles in the exact center of the room...how's this supposed to work? I'm so confused!! ;o) Also for the adhesive skim coat do you recommend a small notch or no notch trowel?
Thanks!
Jay

Old 05-24-07, 03:56 PM
D
I'm no expert, but I think that you are not supposed to put your extra adhesive over the entire floor at once - just in an area that you can work in comfortably, and once you have placed tiles in that area, put the adhesive in another section adjacent to that one, and move on....

Old 05-24-07, 04:02 PM
S