Dog Urine in Subfloor/Installing Vinyl Tile

Old 07-11-13, 11:42 AM
C
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Dog Urine in Subfloor/Installing Vinyl Tile

Hello,

First, apologies for the length of the post, but I figure TMI is better than making everyone guess and assume.

I just bought my first home, which is completely carpeted (minus the bathroom, kitchen, and laundry room). About 550 sq ft of carpet on each: ground level and basement. I have three dogs and a cat. Given my previous experience and what I've read on this and other forums, I know that I need flooring that can be cleaned easily, and will (reasonably) hold up to all the traffic and dirt the animals bring in, not to mention the occasional accident.

I have zero experience with any type of DIY project, and a very limited selection of tools. Having bought the house itself, I'm also extremely limited on funds for major projects.

Eventually, I'd like to put in a luxury vinyl floating floor. The cost is prohibitive now, so I was looking for the cheapest alternative I could find just to get me through the next couple of years. I had settled on the self-stick vinyl tiles, figuring that if they got scraped up or started to peel, I could afford to replace quite a few of them over the next two years while I save up for the floor I want.

Then I discovered that the previous owners had at least one dog that peed all over the floors. Everywhere. The house reeks of urine. I haven't been able to pull up the carpet to assess the damage to the subfloor, but I'm guessing it's a mess. Not to mention how badly my three furries will want to mark those same areas as soon as we move in. Ick.

Idea 1: Kilz the floors, then put down the vinyl tile over the Kilz. However, the directions say the tile cannot be installed on a sealed floor.
Idea 2: Bleach/Odoban the hell out of the floor, leave the house open to air out for a few days, then install vinyl tile directly on the subfloor.