vinyl tile

Old 03-21-14, 05:39 AM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
vinyl tile

I am considering putting in peel and stick vinyl tile in our laundry room and have heard of the possibility of grouting such tile. Does anyone have comments on this as a possibility and if so please make recommendations or point me to a source, please?

I have no experience with such grouting but have used peel and stick in a previous home. I understand that any peel and stick tile should be secured with additional adhesive. Do you agree? What do you think about peel and stick vs other vinyl?

Thank you for your help and consideration.

Old 03-21-14, 05:59 AM
J
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I'd never suggest anyone use peel and stick in any room for any reason.
Stick with a quality sheet good instead.
No seams, no lines to try and keep straight, not going to shrink and leave gaps.

Old 03-21-14, 06:01 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 1,713 Upvotes on 1,529 Posts
I do not know of any "grout" for vinyl tiles. There are some tiles that are printed to look like tile with grout lines. There is a vinyl seam sealer though not a grout you apply it to the seams to help seal the two edges together. I think it is intended for sheet vinyl where you generally just have one seam. I'm not sure I'd be up for the tedious task of sealing all the edges if using squares.

I have tried plain peel & stick over clean, new plywood and it holds so-so and is very susceptible to water. Next better I tried some floors using a vinyl tile primer coat applied to the wood and it was a step up from nothing. Then I tried some floors troweling out vinyl flooring adhesive which worked the best and about the same with peel & stick as tiles without the peel & stick.