Help! My grout is cracking as it dries!

Old 11-13-02, 08:59 AM
Sarah555
Visiting Guest
Exclamation Help! My grout is cracking as it dries!

Sorry, I have a lot of questions here.....I am new at this:

I am using tumbled marble on the fireplace hearth. The tile looks like small multi-colored stones that are arranged onto a rectangular backer. I bought them at home depot. Therefore, there were a LOT of big holes to fill with grout in between the small stones. Now that the grout has dried it looks like it is sort of cracking in the larger spaces between the stones. Why is it doing this?

Plus, it looks like i didn't put enough grout down - i wanted it level with the stones, but its not. Can I add more grout even after it has completely dried? Grout over top the dried grout to fill the holes?

And lastly what consistency should the grout be? Can it have lumps? What is the best way to mix it? I was having a hard time getting using a paint stirrer.

Sponsored Links
Old 11-13-02, 05:20 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You mixed too much water in the mix!
Grout must be mixed precisely.

Grout gullies need to be deep enough to hold the grout. When the water leaves the grout, and you had a lot of water it sounds like, the grout will shrink.

A mixing paddle on a reversible drill is the only way to mix grout to the consistency of toothpaste, going in both directions of the drill. Then you let it sit for about 5-10 minutes in the mixing bucket to "steep". Then remix both directions again. Now it is time to spread grout and get muddy!

Old 11-13-02, 05:33 PM
T
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cracking grout