Grout sealer?

Old 05-15-03, 08:15 PM
K2K
Visiting Guest
Question Grout sealer?

My new home is nearly complete. Ceramic tile was installed last week in a large part of my home. I have no experience with tile. The flooring company the tile was purchased from suggested sealing the grout or painting it. I tend to side towards the sealing process, but I would appreciate advice from those of you with experience in this area. I was told by the installers to wait for 28 days after install to apply sealer. I have read 48 hrs. any input here would be helpful. I have 3 young children, two large dogs and a mud yard. I'd like to get something done as soon as possible.

Old 05-16-03, 06:43 AM
Brewbeer
Visiting Guest
If the tile is over concrete, I'd say the tilers are right. You don't want to seal it before ALL the water has evaporated. But if it is over a wood substructure (crawlspace or basement), 7 days is adequate. 48 hours is too short.

Old 05-16-03, 06:12 PM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Actually, you follow the directions on the bottle of sealer you purchase. Aquamix Sealer's Choice 15 Gold can go on within 72 hours.

http://www.aquamix.com (copy and paste)

Old 05-16-03, 06:29 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
...and it will allow the moisture to continue to evaporate.

Old 05-16-03, 06:46 PM
K2K
Visiting Guest
Thanks for the help! The tile is on subfloor with basement below.

Old 05-16-03, 06:55 PM
K2K
Visiting Guest