Help on tiling laundry room?

Old 02-18-04, 04:35 PM
Choppynuts
Visiting Guest
Help on tiling laundry room?

Not very experienced with this but am going to give it a try. The main issue i think i will run into will be the area around the drain. is there any way particular to do around the drain area? also the floor is fairly level except near the drain area and it isnt that bad but do i need to try and build that up any?

This has nothing to do with the laudrey room but my basement was recently tiled with 12 inch tile and one that was closest to the door crack right down the middle about 3 months after it was installed. i was going to replace that tile while we were in the process of doing the other room because the grout is the same. How do i get the cracked tile out and also do i clean all the grout out and just replace with fresh? will it be noticeable?

Thanks for any help you can provide as you can see I'm an amateur!!!

Sponsored Links
Old 02-18-04, 08:35 PM
rs0
Visiting Guest
for the drain area... you dont want to build it up or it wont be a drain....the way this is done is when you get to the drain the tile that will be layed where the drain starts to slope will need to be cut and put in in 2 pieces and when you grout just grout over your cut area................for the broken tile take a masonary chisel and hammer to get the old tile out scrape all the thinset out and the grout...........yes you can regrout just that tile and as far as the grout matching depends on how old the grout is .....you'll just have to do it and see

Old 02-19-04, 07:38 AM
Choppynuts
Visiting Guest
thanks and the tile and grout i will be replacing is only about 4 months old...isnt that a little odd for it to have cracked? it is cut to fit around the door and im not sure if the cold weather is what did this or not.