Advice

Old 08-29-04, 08:02 PM
lostit
Visiting Guest
Advice

I am in the process of repairing the ceramic walls around my bathtub. I have never worked with ceramic tile before, so I need any advice on how to get started. The prep work is complete, I have 1/4" plywood, a vapor barrier, and 1/2" cement board in place. I am ready to install the tile. I have studied books and have spent many hours researching this project, but am still a little apprehensive about the tile. Any pointers would be appreciate

Sponsored Links
Old 08-29-04, 11:10 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm confused about the 1/4" plywood. So you hung 1/4" plywood over the studs before putting your vapor barrier up and your 1/2" tile backer? Why?

Typically, even for a wet area you only need a 6 mil vapor barrier over the studs and your 1/2" tile backer over that. I guess I don't understand the need for the 1/4" plywood. Also, probably not a good idea to have a vapor barrier sandwiched between plywood and tile backer. The plywood will absorb the moisture and may force the wall to swell or sweat. There's no where for the moisture to go. If that moisture ends up between your tile backer and tile you'll start loosing your grout and your tile over time. The vapor barrier should be either hung from the studs, or you can use a roll-on membrane over your tile backer like Pro Red before you apply your adhesive and set your tile.

Old 08-30-04, 02:10 PM
lostit
Visiting Guest
Advice

I am new to tiling. The books I have read and everyone I spoke with told me to hang the plywood, put the vapor barrier and then the cement board.

So now you are saying, put the vapor barrier and then the cement board. Sounds like I wasted lots of time, money and effort.

So now I am totally confused.

Old 08-31-04, 11:26 AM