Permabase cement board???

Old 03-20-05, 10:34 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Permabase cement board???

What do I need to use with permabase cement board to waterproof the wall? The guys at Lowe's were telling me that permabase will let water through, but all I need to do is seal the grout, but I am not too comfortable with that, since one wall is an exterior with insulation and another has a tv cable running through it. I saw in John Bridge forums someone using black roof felt behind their hardibacker. I am also building a couple of niches, and would like to know the steps as far as waterproofing those. I am just wondering if I should take the permabase back and get hardibacker. I keep hearing people say "a matter of personal preference" but I have no experience with this stuff, so I don't have a preference! Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Old 03-24-05, 12:28 PM
OK, so I'll reply to myself I found the answer, if anyone else might be interested.... Found that 15# roofing felt behind the permabase is sufficient vapor barrier. Around niches would need redguard, but that is already covered in a post here lately.

Old 03-24-05, 12:33 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Thanks for the ansewer. It was YOUR turn to answer LOL. Good luck.

Old 03-24-05, 01:09 PM
You're right, I guess it was time for me to say something instead of asking Here's something else I learned:
1. More than likely, the guys at Lowe's or Home Depot know as little as or less than you do about any given project
2. You truly can find out how to do anything on the internet.
3. You can do a lot more than you ever thought you could if you take it one step at a time.
4. Plumbers earn every cent they make... (refer to the plumbing thread for more on THAT..lol)
5. I may be stuck with man hands for the next month or until I get this bathroom done
6. Making lists is fun
7. I just might really need to get a life....

Old 03-24-05, 06:15 PM
D
If making lists is fun #7 may be true.

Old 03-24-05, 06:23 PM