Removing tile, putting up new backerboard...

Old 06-07-05, 08:21 PM
sfnewbie
Visiting Guest
Removing tile, putting up new backerboard...

I'm a newbie to the home improvement arena.

We have an existing small 3x3 feet shower stall with tiles on three walls and on the floor. There is no tile on the ceiling.

How difficult of a project would it be to 1) remove all the tiles, 2) move the backerboard (I am assuming that this is what is on the ceiling and growing mold) and 3) install new tile?

Is this a project for a newbie with time and patience but not experience?

Thanks in advance for your help and advice!

Sponsored Links
Old 06-08-05, 06:46 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yup.

Assuming the base of your shower is in good shape and there is no water damage behind the tiles,
You can just do what you suggested.

What is the base made from?
Are the grout lines in good shape? (if no, expect possible water damage)
Was the shower installed on backerboard or drywall?

I would buy a book on tiling and read through some of the step-by-step procedures on thes board.
The thread about saving my shower has some fantastic pictures.
Hopefully behind your shower is in better shape and you can just put the backerboard up.

Do you have another shower or bath to use while you do this?

Old 06-08-05, 08:54 AM
sfnewbie
Visiting Guest
Possible water damage?

One of the reasons I want to take the tile down is because I can't get the grout clean enough (some of it is pretty black). I have a bad feeling about it and can't ignore it for much longer.

Also, because the ceiling of the shower isn't tiled, the paint is coming off of whatever it is that is up there.

Not sure what the base is made from. Hoping that the shower has backerboard behind it and not dry wall (reading a lot of the posts here and I'm PRAYING that it's backerboard).

There is a separate bathtub we can use.

I'll check out your thread. Thanks!

Old 06-12-05, 12:13 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts