Subfloor for marble and ceramic - desperatly needing help

Old 10-09-05, 09:03 PM
adasco
Visiting Guest
Arrow Subfloor for marble and ceramic - desperatly needing help

Hi folks,

It's my first time posting here although I have been reading the forum for a while. I desperately need help with issues described below. I will greatly appreciate any piece of advice.
I plan to put A) marble tiles in the bathroom (~50 sq.ft, rectangular shape) and B) porcelain tiles in the kitchen (~100 sq.ft., square shape).
First of all the status quo:
Relatively new house - 7 y.o., joists are 8x2 about 14-15'' apart supported at 11-12 feet, the floor is particle/chip board either 5/8 or 3/4 (not sure).
It is covered with 3/16 plywood (definitely not 1/4 - I measured it) and vinyl.
Elsewhere in the house I have 3/4 hardwood installed directly on the particle board and I would like the new flooring to be at the same level.
For the forementioned projects A) and B) I have already purchased some 1/4 RhinoBoards from Home Depot:
http://www.custombuildingproducts.co...er=diy&lang=en
I was told that they are equivalent to 1/2 - 5/8 plywood and that I should be fine.
I plan to rip off the vinyl and then the 3/16 plywood that appears to be only stapled anyway. On the particle board I want to lay thin-set mortar and put 1/4 RhinoBoard, on top of that I will put thin-set mortar again and then poreclain or marble tiles respectively. This should allow me to ideally "meet the hardwood level (1/8 thin-set + 1/4 Rhino + 1/8 thin-set + 1/4 tile = 3/4 H/W)
Now the problem that I have is whether IT IS ENOUGH?
I am especially hesitant about the marble which is after all quite heavy but also soft and cracks easily.
What are the correct subfloor solutions for my projects A) and B)?
If I have to live with a reducer I will because the last thing that I want is cracked tiles. I am new to this kind of project therefore any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Adam

Old 10-10-05, 01:04 PM
T
Upvotes: 0