Help! - Does grout add strength?!

Old 04-08-06, 10:36 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Help! - Does grout add strength?!

I need a dose of reality...

I layed ceramic tile today. Cement slab, 12" tile, mortar mixer, 1/4" notch trowel, 1/4" spacers, "worked" each tile in.

After about 6hrs. I was done for the night. I walked around to another entrance to the area I had finished and kneeled down reached over and tapped some of the tiles with my knuckles and low and behold there were a couple that kind of "vibrated" like they were not bonding. I am afraid to walk on it to check any others.

My question is......

Does grout add any kind of strength and adhesion properties to the tiles to each other and/or to the floor or is it just cosmetic?

I sure hope so or I'm Sc#[email protected]!

Any input is appreciated. FF

Sponsored Links
Old 04-08-06, 10:57 PM
i am no pro, but i dont think grout will fix the not so well bonded tiles. i would guess loose tile may cause grout to crumble as tile moves... i'd consider breaking the loose tiles out and resetting with the extras i hope you have.

Old 04-09-06, 07:02 AM
6 hours later is too soon to be on those tile. 24 hours unless you used a rapid set. Check those tiles you knelt on, you might have caused bonding problems to those specific tiles. Knock on them today with a broom handle, do they sound solid or hollow? Hollow is a problem.

Your trowel was a bit undersized, I would have use 1/4x3/8. As long as you kept checking your coverage, 85-90%, it's ok.

You didn't use a premixed thinset, did you?

Grout will not keep poorly set tile in place very long. The tile's movement will quickly crack the grout.

Old 04-09-06, 09:13 PM
6 hours is not enough time for the hollow sound to go away either, it will take 24 to 48 hours if you used a modified thinset.

Old 04-09-06, 09:48 PM
Checked them all this evening with hammer handle...sound solid as a rock except for about 5 of them which I pried up and remortared.