tile on shower surround

Old 01-08-07, 10:09 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
tile on shower surround

hello

i had some massive leaking around a shower stall that has ceramic tile on the walls/ceiling and a PVC pan. i tore out the old tile and found the leaking mostly took place at the threshold.

one of the problems is that the pan is a neo-angle which seems to have a channel on two sides to set the cement board and/or tile into to make it waterproof. the problem is the front two sides of the pan don't have these channels and the way this shower stall is built, there are stud walls framed around all 4 sides of this neo-angle pan.

so, two sides seem really susceptible to leaking since they have no channel.

what can i do to make channels on the the other two sides? maybe use some plastic corner bead and install in with caulking so it doesn't leak, then put the board and tile over it?

any advice is welcome. i am a rookie.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-08-07, 01:27 PM
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Does the pan look something like this?

http://www.faucetdirect.com/mediaBase/specifications/SpecSheet_238.pdf

Old 01-08-07, 01:52 PM
yes, exactly like that but i don't think it is american standard

Old 01-08-07, 06:50 PM
Robert

This kind of shower pan is made such that the back walls are to be tiled and the sides and front receive a three sided glass enclosure. The sides of this type pan are not made for framed walls and tile and you have already found out.

Old 01-09-07, 06:19 AM
thanks for the info.

i completely understand that this type of shower pan is not made for more than 2 framed walls. however, i have 4 framed walls.

what can i do? do you think if i bring the cbu down tight and caulk underneath and use a moisture barrier behind that it might work?

or is there a better solution?

Old 01-09-07, 06:45 AM
This is very tough problem.
It is a no win deal so you have to adapt and modify.