Buckling Ceramic Floor Tiles

Old 02-17-07, 11:30 PM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Buckling Ceramic Floor Tiles

Good day everyone...

We got a major problem with our floor tiles. Its ceramic about 12x12 inches in size and its buckling up. The problem can be seen in our second and third floor areas. Im a civil engineer and just graduated. I certainly dont know why is this happening. I happen to observed what they did during the construction of our house and I will cite those procedure which i think may cause the problem.

1. They lay another layer of concrete on top of the original pouring slab on the second and third floor. About an inch or more thick.

2. They laid the floor tiles soon after the pouring of concrete (without letting the concrete harden first) and use a cement paste in between floor tiles.

What do you think is the problem? What are the solution to this?

Not all of the tiles in an area are affected, i say about 30-40% percent per area (i mean bedrooms). Is it good to just re-lay the affected tiles and forget about the rest? or we should carefully remove all the tiles and start from there?

Thanks in advance.

Old 02-18-07, 06:49 AM
H
Received 9 Upvotes on 9 Posts
What you are describing sounds like tenting. This is usually caused by lack of expansion joints in large floors, or floors that are grouted up to the walls leaving no room for expansion. The tile has no room to expand to it lifts right off the floor. What is the size of the tiled areas, and are they grouted right to the walls? You can take off a piece of base molding to check this out.

Old 02-18-07, 06:49 AM
S
Group Moderator
Received 1,263 Upvotes on 1,204 Posts
Call your builder - this shouldn't be your problem.

Old 02-19-07, 04:07 AM
J