Please give some tips/advice on the correct way to grout

Old 07-04-07, 08:27 AM
G
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Please give some tips/advice on the correct way to grout

I am getting ready to grout my first tile job. I laid 12x12 porcelain tiles w/ 1/4 grout lines. I have never done this before and I'm curious as what is the best way to make this a smooth operation
Is it best to grout a manageable section and sponge clean as you go? Any help would be appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Old 07-04-07, 10:20 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
When I did my first tile job, I found it better to apply the grout in about a 4x4' section the wipe down the tile carefully with a damp sponge. This will make clean up when you are completely done a little easier.

Grouting is easy, just take your time and make sure you have packed the grout in sufficently.

Good luck!

Old 07-04-07, 05:12 PM
G
Is there a wait time from the time you apply grout and wipe the surface clean? I'm asking because I imagine the grout coming out of the lines as you wipe the surface clean.

Old 07-04-07, 05:21 PM
Wait until you see it start to haze over on the surface of the tile, unless its in direct sunlight, then no more than 5 minutes

Old 07-04-07, 08:44 PM
Forum Topic Moderator