Tile? Tile? Tile?

Old 08-07-07, 07:41 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tile? Tile? Tile?

OK I have two projects and many questions. The first is a leaking shower stall with a tile floor. I have no idea what type of tile but can say it's about 40 years old and splinters like glass when hit. While digging up this tile I have found sand(?) under it. What is this? Under the sand seems to be some type of board. What is this. This project is being done due to a leak that was not addressed by the previous owners. Are there good books to review on this subject? The second project is currently under a carpet. This is a concrete floor with what appears to be some type of vinyl tile. I want to put ceramic tile on this floor and was told by a friend that it would be ok since the tile is directly on concrete. Is this true? Obviously I have no knowledge of what I am getting into but thats not a first... Beer, patience and many breaks have gotten me through many similiar projects. Thanks in advanced for any info offered.

Sponsored Links
Old 08-07-07, 08:03 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
It's common to find "sand" under old tile like you have. Since there is sand in portland cement, it just dissintegrated over time.

As for the board, not sure, could be green board, but a pro will chime in shortly.

They have numerous tiling how-to books at big box stores that can be a good source of information.

It is recommended you rip up that old vinyl floor prior to laying tile. The thinset will adhere too the concrete better then vinyl.

You theoretically could lay the tile over the vinyl if the vinyl is well adhered and roughed up.

Hang in there, a flooring expert will be here shortly. The shower will be the toughest, but doable.

Old 08-08-07, 08:20 AM
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts