Backerboard needed over SLC?

Old 01-12-08, 07:21 PM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Backerboard needed over SLC?

Hi all,

I am fairly new to DIY home renevations and this website, and am currently starting a remodel on my master bathroom, which is basically an empty shell right now(down to the subfloor/framing). While this has been an over-all frustrating project to this point already, my wife and I are going to attempt laying 12" ceramic tile for the flooring.

The issue I have is that the floor in this 6x24ft room has shifted out of level the narrow way, dropping around 3/4 of an inch over the 6 feet(we did not rip up the floors except to replace a small section of water damage by our old tub). I know I am supposed to lay backerboard down under the tiles, but that will not fix my level problem, so I am considering using a self-leveling compound. My question is do I have to lay backerboard down on top of the SLC?

Also, how many bags do you think I would need to level this floor out(144 Sq. feet of space)? I have looked at some bags of SLC at Home Depot, and they say a 50lb bag covers 50 sq. feet at 1/8"., but I don't know how to account for the slope.

The subfloor is 1/4 inch exterior plywood over top of 3/4 inch ext. ply, with 2x6 joists 16" OC.

Is there an easier approach to level this floor out? Don't think I can do too much to the subfloor itself because it is sitting on a concrete foundation and I am afraid if I shift the floor it will shift the new roof on it also.

As I said, I am fairly new to renovating and any help would be greatly appreciated. I expect to be spending a lot of time at this site, as we are re-doing the entire house

Thanks,
Sam.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-13-08, 08:15 AM
C
Received 89 Votes on 68 Posts
If you can get away with the height change, you might think about ripping up the 1/4" underlayment and adding a new 3/4 plywood base.