Cracked Saltillo

Old 01-31-08, 05:16 AM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cracked Saltillo

We had Saltillo installed on the first floor approx. 1600 sf over concrete slab. We now have hairline cracks running through 10 to 15 tiles in 3 different rooms. I have checked it appears the saltillo was laid over typical hairline cracks in the foundation. These cracks are less then 1/8" and I'm not sure if they are static or not. I would like to replace these tiles myself. I have heard that a special saw is used to cut the grout lines then simply chisel the bad tile out being careful not to damage the surrounding tiles. I have seen some crack prevention thinsets on the web, do these really work and is there any otehr special tips or tricks in repalcing these tiles.

I have some experience laying the saltillo since the contrator worked out when he was about 75% done originally.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-31-08, 06:56 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
For the budget minded there are handheld grout saws sold at home centers for about $5-$7.

A RotoZip or Dremmel can also be used with a special "tile bit". A right angle grinder with a "diamond blade" can also be used.

Cut away all the grout surrounding the offending tile and hammer away until the old tile is removed. Scrape the floor and go again. No big deal.

Old 01-31-08, 08:16 PM
T
Sorry to step in, but why did the tiles crack? Were they installed over a slab that had a crack? No crack insulation membrane? Something going on with the soil beneath the crack? Moisture issues? Other? Just asking because replacement of cracked tile is not guarantee it won't crack again. The reason I ask is that cracks in tile and grout are usually a sign of movement.

"I have some experience laying the saltillo since the contractor worked out when he was about 75% done originally." What does this mean?

Old 02-01-08, 04:16 AM
S
Group Moderator
Received 93 Votes on 82 Posts