Do I need building permits?

Old 05-01-08, 10:54 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Do I need building permits?

This isn't flooring-specific, but I couldn't find a general forum so I figured I would ask. I've been fixing up my house for three years, and have never gotten any permits or done anything involving code. I'm not knocking down walls or anything, mainly refinishing floors, replacing old electrical outlet switches and light switches, patching drywall holes, etc. Now I am ripping up a linoleum floor, and replacing the subfloor. I also plan to sister in new joists since the span is 24".

Do I need building permits for this? Do they cost money? Do I have to have stuff inspected after I'm done? And more importantly, why? I realize why building codes are important, but if I'm doing everything correctly, what advantage does a building permit provide me and why is it in my best interest to get one? Do I need one if I'm doing small stuff like replacing a plaster wall with drywall? Won't getting a building permit let them know I'm improving my house, thereby raising my appraisal and my taxes?

I'm not completely adverse to getting a permit, just want to be convinced if I should. Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 05-01-08, 03:22 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Your best option is to call your local town offices and speak to the building department. They can tell you what permits are required for what because it fairys drastically from town to town.

Typically, major renovation require permits. Permits do cost money, typically, but not that much. For most situations requiring a permit, the building department will want to see plans, blue prints, etc of what you are doing. Some permits can only be pulled by a licensed contractor as well.

They will require an inspection after the work is done, but before you put walls up, etc.

Old 05-01-08, 03:56 PM
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
I also plan to sister in new joists since the span is 24".